New York City’s YMCAWe’re here for good.

New to Aquatics at the Y

    PARENT/CHILD
    Shrimp (6-8 months)
    Kipper (9-12 months)
    Inia (13-18 months)
    Perch (19-36 months)
    PRESCHOOL (Ages 3-5)
    Pike (Beginner)
    Eel (Intermediate Beginner)*
    Ray (Advanced Beginner)*
    Starfish (Advanced Beginner)*
    YOUTH (Ages 6-12)
    Polliwog (Beginner)
    Guppy (Advanced Beginner)*
    Minnow (Intermediate)*
    Fish (Intermediate)*
    Flying Fish (Advanced)*
    Shark (Advanced)*
    TEEN (Ages 12-17)
    Teen Beginner
    Teen Advanced Beginner*
    Teen Intermediate*
    Teen Advanced*

The Y offers a progressive swim lesson program for youth of all ages. There are six, eight-week sessions throughout the year. Lessons are categorized by age and ability level - see the chart to the right for a full list of swim lesson levels.

›› Please note that a swim cap is required to enter our pools.

Registering for Swim Lessons

*All levels with an asterisk require that your child either pass the level prior or take a swim evaluation to register for the class.

Swim evaluations take approximately 10 minutes, are free and can be scheduled by contacting the Aquatics Director at your branch.

Members may register for classes up to two weeks prior the start of a session and non-members may register up to one week prior. Register >

The skills taught in our Aquatic Program center around five main components:

  • Personal safety: Activities that help increase awareness of personal safety issues for both the child and the family, including boating safety
  • Personal growth: Activities that help the child and the family grow in spirit, mind, and body, including character development
  • Stroke development: Activities that help develop swimming abilities so participants can move in the water safely
  • Water sports and games: Activities that help develop an appreciation of aquatic activities that may last a lifetime, including age-appropriate games and songs.
  • Rescue: Activities that build awareness of how to help others in aquatic emergencies

 
Branch Aquatic Directors

  YMCA BRANCH AQUATIC DIRECTOR E-MAIL PHONE
  Bedford-Stuyvesant Anderson Seales aseales@ymcanyc.org 718-789-1497
  Bronx Nadia Arroyo narroyo@ymcanyc.org 718-792-9736
  NY Camp Hillary Southard hsouthard@ymcanyc.org  845-858-2200
  Chinatown Miguel Garcia migarcia@ymcanyc.org 212-912-2480
  Coney Island Oytun Tangul otangul@ymcanyc.org 718-215-6933
  Cross Island Lisa Losh / Diane DiPeri llosh@ymcanyc.org 718-479-0505
  Dodge Svetlana Barker sbarker@ymcanyc.org 718-625-3136
  Flushing Felix Hor fhor@ymcanyc.org 718-961-6880
  Greenpoint Ariel Hyman ahyman@ymcanyc.org 212-912-2260
  Harlem Justin Daniels jdaniels@ymcanyc.org 212-912-2016
  Jamaica Teo Tejada tteja@ymcanyc.org 718-739-6600
  Long Island City Mohinder Rana mrana@ymcanyc.org 212-912-2572
  McBurney Madhur Patel mpatel@ymcanyc.org 212-912-2321
  North Brooklyn Heidi Ortiz hortiz@ymcanyc.org 718-277-1600
  Prospect Park Amy Whitsell awhitsell@ymcanyc.org 718-768-7100
  Rockaway Virginia Clay vclay@ymcanyc.org 718-215-6962
  S-I Broadway Rom Staton rstaton@ymcanyc.org 718-981-4933
  S-I South Shore Michael Creegan mcreegan@ymcanyc.org 718-227-3200
  Vanderbilt Ivy Guerra iguerra@ymcanyc.org 212-912-2536
  West Side Melanie Torres torresm@ymcanyc.org 212-912-2676
  Cabinet Chair Mary O'Donoghue modonoghue@ymcanyc.org 212-630-9624
  Executive  rep Erika Rautenstrauch erautenstrauch@ymcanyc.org 718-768-7100